7/10/15-brief talk

20151007_120240404_iOS Todays lecture was a briefing about FMP and examples of how to produce work and what to think about while creating our major project. The summary image below explains the unit. The unit helps deepen insights into contemprary art and design practice, FMP will have a underpinning critical and contextual rotionale by programmes of study from self determined with tutorial guidence. Also this unit will involve developing research strategies and will be able to reflect on the nature of my learning to give a clearer perspective on personal and professional development.

20151007_120603335_iOS

20151007_121059300_iOS

20151007_210628428_iOS20151007_203401000_iOS

20151007_203401000_iOS 1

20151007_203401000_iOS 2

20151007_203402000_iOS This lecture helped me gather good notes as shown above. I learned alot and will keep everything in mind when I am creating my FMP. This lecture has not just taught me new things but has also gave me a more open mind about my project,its nature and how I will look into something completly different but relate it to my project.

My favourite video in this lecture was Video 4. Which was very intersting personally and I thought I could research it in my spare time. I loved this video because I like to do unique things,not boring or plain, and I feel typograhy is a way to express emotions and creativity in type(words) and font. Typography is the art and technique of arranging type to make written language clear and understandable, readable, and appealing when displayed. Typography involves selecting typefaces, point size, line length, line-spacing (leading), letter-spacing (tracking), and adjusting the space within letters pairs (kerning).

Typography:

After looking at Typography, I decided to look into the fashion side of it and found some interesting images and designers that have used typography in their designs. http://www.irenebrination.typepad.com/irenebrination_notes_on_a/2013/03/mint-designs-aw-13.html

MintDesign_AW13_aMintDesign_AW13_bMintDesign_AW13_dMintDesign_AW13_vMintDesign_AW13_c

The images above are a collection from Autumn/Winter 2013 showcased during Tokyo Fashion Week,by Hokuto Katsui and Nao Yagi.

The designs are characterised by a letter combining it with a punk/funky edge. The mixed colours are eye catching,dull black,grey and white with electric blue/green gives the outfit a exciting and fun emotion. Typography in fashion design isnt about a percific purpose, the aim is how you creative font and words together within the material and being decorative/creative as seen in this beautiful collection.

The end of this article/blog was interesting and in my opinion I agree with “Molzahn hinted in his article at the fact that new typography was supposed to make reading more like looking in an increasingly visually portrayed world and at a new way of reading – free, natural and universal. While not everything he may have stated in that feature can be applied to this collection, his motto – “Stop Reading! Look!” – perfectly fits it.” I feel that typography is a very obvious different way of reading but I feel it is created for people who see things in a unusual way. It is also for people who dont really think creative and is showing them you can always create and design with anything. I also like the quote/motto “Stop reading! look!”. This quote reminds me of crossing a road, being aware of things and looking carefully.

Leave a Reply

