6/10/15

CREATIVE PATTERN CUTTING TECHNIQUES

Today we were given a task to buy cheap fabric of our choice. With the fabric we had to use a block pattern then create shape, structure, drapes, colour balance etc. After we made a design we had to create a pattern from it(from the mannequin). Before the task we were given a brief talk and examples of designs on the mannequin and the things to do when creating a pattern (using notches etc)–

For this project, I first had many ideas but was not sure which one to move on with, so I started off simple and gradually developed my design,then decided on a final design which has pleat techniques.

The fabric I chose was a good match for what I wanted for my garment. When I felt the texture I had to buy it (£2.00 for 2metres). I like the reversible colours, shown in the images, you can see that I have used both sides of the fabric. I turned it inside out for the jacket block and then used the right side of fabric for the pleated part. I did this so that something will stand out rather than the material.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

– First I started with a Mens shirt block. I traced it onto calico and decided to have/add a long length,

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

-I was inspired by royal clothing. We were told to choose a keyword for inspiration and design development. My keyword is ‘Royalty’,

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

-My collar idea was a choice from looking at royalty clothing like Kings, for example Haile Salassie I. I wanted to create a design that would stand out over the jacket because the material has loads going on, such as the flowers and colour.


We were given a short powerpoint presentation to show different pattern cutting techniques. I thought the presentation was interesting and decided to do more research into ‘pattern cutting technique’ videos.


Inspo…

Haile Selassie

Royal uniforms

African and British Royalty

Kings


Other toiles from this session:

20151028_182910815_iOS 20151028_121257273_iOS 20151028_121202514_iOS 20151027_084452000_iOS 1 20151026_123400127_iOS 20151026_123434613_iOS 20151026_123422173_iOS 20151026_210226000_iOS

 

Leave a Reply

